Free delivery within Australia
Safe payment with SecurePay
Australia Post
SKU #1711531

Four coin uncirculated Mintmark/Privy set

SKU #1711531

Four coin uncirculated Mintmark/Privy set

This four-coin uncirculated set honouring a century of Trans-Australian Railway includes a full set of ‘C’, ‘S’, ‘B’ and ‘M’ mintmarks/privy marks.
Read more
Delivery within australia icon Delivery within Australia only

Only 100 years ago, the wide brown land of Australia was a spectacular, but impassable, terrain. With 4000 kilometres between the east and west coasts, and some of the driest and hottest land one can encounter, unity across the country was a distant hope.

In the late 1800s, with Australia’s Federation on the horizon, Western Australia Premier Sir John Forrest promised the railway line to the people of his colony, to maintain their enthusiasm about joining the new nation. In October 1917, the 1698 kilometre track was opened, stretching from Kalgoorlie to Port Augusta, and traversing the spectacular but foreboding Nullarbor Plain.

In the century that has passed, freight, mail and passengers have all been carried across the Railway line, with journeys ranging from practical and functional to whimsical and extravagant. Upon opening, it united a young country like never before. One hundred years later, it continues to be a celebrated and iconic piece of the Australian story.

Coin details
Coins’ reverse features an artistic depiction of a train crossing the Australian landscape on the Railway line.

Four-coin uncirculated set includes a full set of ‘C’, ‘S’, ‘B’ and ‘M’ mintmarks/privy marks.

  • Mint: Royal Australian Mint
  • Issue date: 1 January 2017
  • Metal: AlBr
  • Finish: Uncirculated
  • Denominations: $1
  • Mintage: 15,000
  • Minimum weight: 9g
  • Maximum diameter: 25mm
  • Designer: T. Dean