Free delivery within Australia
Safe payment with SecurePay
Australia Post
SKU #1711499

4 coin uncirculated set

SKU #1711499

4 coin uncirculated set

This four-coin set allows collectors to purchase the coins adorned with each of the mintmarks and privy marks that will be available throughout the year.
Read more
Delivery within australia icon Delivery within Australia only

For this special year, the set includes an ‘S’, ‘M’ and ‘P’ privy mark, denoting the locations of the first mints. The ‘C’ mintmark completes the collection.

Throughout the 19th century, Australian currency was an assortment of foreign coins, promissory notes and rum trades. The gold rush of this era became a pivotal event for Australian society, assisting in the development of both a form of currency and a unique identity.

The Adelaide Assay Office was established in 1852, and in its short life produced gold ingots and Australia’s first gold coin, the Adelaide Pound. Official branches of the Royal Mint opened in Sydney (1855), Melbourne (1872) and Perth (1899), producing sovereigns and other pre-decimal coins.

The Royal Australian Mint opened in 1965, superseding other Australian mints to become the sole producer of the country’s decimal coins. For several years, a highlight in visiting the Royal Australian Mint has been the gallery press. Here visitors can strike their own C mintmark coin which celebrates an event or tradition of national significance.

Coin details
The coins’ reverse emulate a Sydney Mint sovereign design.

Packaged on a four-coin presentation card.

  • Mint: Royal Australian Mint
  • Issue date: 1 January 2016
  • Metal: AlBr
  • Finish: Uncirculated
  • Denominations: $1 (each coin)
  • Mintage: Unlimited
  • Minimum weight: 9g
  • Maximum diameter: 25mm