Free delivery within Australia
Safe payment with SecurePay
Australia Post
SKU #17121006

2018 We Will Remember Them 1oz silver proof coin

SKU #17121006

2018 We Will Remember Them 1oz silver proof coin

Struck from 1oz of 99.99% silver in proof quality, The ANZAC Spirit 100th Anniversary Coin Series commemorates those who lost their lives on the Western Front during the First World War.
Read more
Delivery within australia icon Delivery within Australia only

For the Fallen was written by Laurence Binyon, an English poet and writer, and was first published in 1914 not long after the start of the First World War. The Ode is the name that has been given to the fourth stanza from For the Fallen and was actually written first. This stanza has become the most recognised of the entire poem, reprinted by many Australian newspapers during the war. It has since been adopted as part of remembrance ceremonies both in Australia and around the world.

Today The Ode is recited at memorial services commemorating the First World War, such as Anzac Day and Remembrance Day, in honour of all casualties of war regardless of their nationality. It is also recited by men and women of the Australian Defence Force each afternoon at the Australian War Memorial in Canberra, as part of the Last Post Ceremony.

Coin details
The coin’s reverse depicts a soldier in a field of red poppies playing the bugle. In the background are rays of sunlight on which The Ode is written. The design includes the inscription ‘1918 We Will Remember Them’.
Edged lettering features around the coin’s rim with the words, “PRIDE • RESPECT • GRATITUDE •”.

Each coin is presented in a black and red themed display case featuring the words PRIDE, RESPECT, and GRATITUDE on the outside of the case, within a themed shipper, and is accompanied by a numbered Certificate of Authenticity.

  • Mint: The Perth Mint
  • Issue date: 2 February 2018
  • Metal: 99.99% silver
  • Finish: Proof
  • Denominations: $1
  • Mintage: 7,500
  • Minimum weight: 31.107g
  • Maximum diameter: 40.6mm
  • Maximum thickness: 3.21mm
  • Designer: Wade Robinson